How to Manage your Update Preferences in WordPress Blog
Why is it important to manage your plugin, theme and core updates? The reason you want to manage is there is a chance, depending on your host that they will push out updates to your site automatically because updates are good for security. But there is a slight chance of having those updates pushed out automatically breaking your website which is something you really don’t want.
Why to disable automatic updates?
Automatic updates are done automatically, you won’t know if your site is broken or not until you visit your site which may not be very soon. After the update is live your visitors might be coming to a broken website without you even knowing it for quite a while. So that’s the main reason you want to disable automatic updates. However, by disabling them you’re also not getting the immediate security patches which is a bad thing, you want to get right away. So when you disable updates for certain things you want to make sure that you are doing the updates manually and before you do the update of course, you want to backup your WordPress database and files in case something goes wrong during the update, you can restore.
So you need to install and activate the Easy Manager Plugin. You can get to the settings for this plugin by clicking the Configure button inside the plugins list or if you hover over the dashboard link it adds updates options link. So if you click on there and see the plugins dashboard you will see the current update preferences on your site.
You just have to go through and set whatever your preferences are. It’s recommended that you do keep the minor release updates enabled and disable the major releases because the major releases are what can be broken or what can break something usually. Minor updates can too but it’s very rare these days.
If you go through the tabs of Manage Updates and go to plugins you can disallow updates to certain plugins or allow updates to others. So you need to make sure you have the most up-to-date plugins and the same for the themes.
You can go in your individual disallows theme updates and in the advanced tab there are some more advanced settings, so you can decide who gets to manipulate the settings of this plugin and users to not include.
So if you check this box besides Bjorn and you can no longer go in and make changes to that plugin. You can reset all the options and you can force updates to everything.
So that’s the power of this plugin that you can stop automatic updates which are sometimes rolled out by your host without you knowing it and that will potentially save you from a broken website. When you do the update yourself, at least you’re aware of the possibility the website can break after the update.
Latest posts by Christine (see all)
- How to add an Admin User when WordPress Site is Hacked - January 28, 2018
- How to Manually Update WordPress Plugins using FTP - January 26, 2018
- Why Bluehost is best for WordPress Hosting 2018 - January 11, 2018